Saturday, July 2News That Matters

Province 2 of Nepal renamed ‘Madhes Pradesh’

Kathmandu, January 18

Nepal’s south-eastern Province 2 has been renamed Madhes Pradesh with Janakpur retained as its capital, settling a long-standing debate on the region’s official reference after it was made a province in 2015.

The Provincial Assembly on Monday voted in two-thirds majority for both decisions. Of the 99 voting members, 78 voted for Janakpur as capital and 80 voted for the provincial name Madhes. Madhes is Nepal’s smallest province in terms of area but second largest in terms of population. It borders Bihar in the south and has eight districts — Bara, Parsa, Rautahat, Sarlahi, Mahottari, Dhanusha, and Siraha. —

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.